collapse

Author Topic: Do i need more power supply?  (Read 507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mack123

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • OS:
  • Windows XPWindows XP
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 3.6.2Firefox 3.6.2
    • View Profile
Do i need more power supply?
« on: March 24, 2010, 01:58:29 AM »
hi, well my problem is that when i play a game my PC switches of (complete power loss), this is within 50-60 seconds of gameplay, so i downloaded speedfan, and PC wizard and they both showed me that my power supply was at 80 degrees celcius idle which is too hot and it reaches 125 degrees celcius in those 50 seconds and then the PC turns off, the motherboard also gets pretty hot aswell, the CPU and graphics card stay pretty cool though, i would just like to no do i need to buy another power supply, also i have changed the mother board twice and makes no difference, i replaced pretty much everything and no difference only thing i havnt changed is the power supply. also does anyone have any idea why its getting soo hot. ive had this problem for a while but it only used to crash now its completely turning off. thanx

Online NerdBoy

  • Graphics Mayhem Designer
  • Global Moderator
  • Expert
  • *
  • Posts: 4837
  • Computer Nerd/Tech Junkie
  • OS:
  • Windows 7Windows 7
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 3.6.2Firefox 3.6.2
    • View Profile
Re: Do i need more power supply?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2010, 06:40:10 AM »
Okay when it shuts down  can you restart it after it cools down for awhile if it does then it is most likely your power supply I repaired one like that for a friend the power supply would overheat and shut down as soon as it cooled of you could restart it and it would run for a few minutes and then shut down again . :)
Thank You,"Guest" For Reading My Post.
 

http://www.michelespaintshop.com/mp_tubes1_index.php

Offline Shortie

  • Administrator
  • Authority
  • *
  • Posts: 5710
  • The Ultimate Boss
  • OS:
  • Windows 7Windows 7
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 3.6.2Firefox 3.6.2
    • View Profile
    • Graphics Mayhem
Re: Do i need more power supply?
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 07:08:35 AM »
Again I agree

What is you PC Spec

As I am now on a 1100 Watt PS which is a pain but everything now works - My problem was disks would just drop of the Bus and give IO errors - But then again I do have 8 of them and two graphics cards :D:D

Shortie

Thank You, "Guest" For Reading My Post.


Offline DMHolt57

  • Global Moderator
  • Connoisseur
  • *
  • Posts: 1909
  • Shameless Agitator
  • OS:
  • Windows 7Windows 7
  • Browser:
  • MS Internet Explorer 8.0MS Internet Explorer 8.0
    • View Profile
    • Windows7NewsInfo
Re: Do i need more power supply?
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 09:29:11 AM »
There has also been a problem with nVidia driver that was released recently.  If you have a nVidia graphics card make sure you have the newest release that fixes a problem with the gfx card overheating and causing shutdown.
Thank You, "Guest" For Reading My Post.



Offline Shortie

  • Administrator
  • Authority
  • *
  • Posts: 5710
  • The Ultimate Boss
  • OS:
  • Windows 7Windows 7
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 3.6.2Firefox 3.6.2
    • View Profile
    • Graphics Mayhem
Re: Do i need more power supply?
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 10:29:18 AM »
Tell me

I have two old GTX 9800+'s

And found out he hard way half way through a render :D:D

Thank You, "Guest" For Reading My Post.


Offline Nukegaming

  • Qualified
  • *
  • Posts: 609
  • OS:
  • Windows VistaWindows Vista
  • Browser:
  • Firefox 3.6Firefox 3.6
    • View Profile
    • My website
Re: Do i need more power supply?
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 02:06:51 PM »
There has also been a problem with nVidia driver that was released recently.  If you have a nVidia graphics card make sure you have the newest release that fixes a problem with the gfx card overheating and causing shutdown.

0hh then i suject he  change for ATI grafics cards they are beter and dont give u problems and your system maybe will be cooldown.

if u realy got a NVIDIA grafics card there is a chance u also change this to ATI if you wish  mack123 .

Do not i repeat do not ever use any kind of NVIDIA grafics card it is good advice and i hope u know what u doing,and if i were u i make this as soon as possible and maybe u need to get a new power suply  and more powerfull.

if that is realy your problem maybe it is regarding yuor pc cant handle the thing anymore and with new power suply beter u maybe not have yuor pc that hot anymore.

for example if i go now a store and buy 1 of those ATI HD 4870 2 GB GDDR5 my board cant handle cause i need to buy a new power suply more powerfull like 1000 watts and more memory 2 GB STICK.

this is just me and believe me on my machine it will problebly do this and more harm and im sure of it casue i know it from many time .


MY MODS

 


* Search



* Latest Activity.

A GM Wallpaper by NerdBoy
[Yesterday at 07:31:24 AM]


Next Topic Page 1.2 by NerdBoy
[December 15, 2010, 06:28:37 PM]


Windows 8 Wallpaper Concepts by NerdBoy
[December 14, 2010, 09:31:08 PM]


Who can make me a custom mod? by VintageJetBoats
[December 13, 2010, 10:35:47 AM]


December 2010 Uptop Logo Contest by NerdBoy
[December 12, 2010, 07:01:48 PM]


Icon request by NerdBoy
[December 10, 2010, 06:39:27 PM]


Ultimate Weather by NerdBoy
[December 10, 2010, 12:22:41 PM]


General Wallpapers by NerdBoy
[December 10, 2010, 12:17:18 PM]


Logo request by NerdBoy
[December 09, 2010, 08:26:51 AM]


Nerdboy's Birthday by NerdBoy
[December 07, 2010, 06:02:44 AM]